It’s Not That Bad Sleeping In My Bed (don’t bother asking)

image

“Why are You single? ”
“When are we meeting him? ”
“When was the last time you dated? ”
“You can’t be single, you are too pretty not to have someone”

Yes! I’m that girl. I get this questions a lot. And such statements too. I used to answer them before, I just don’t care anymore. When someone asks I give them a small smile.

People ask in a manner that suggests that it’s so bad sleeping in my bed. Maybe I like sleeping alone. It doesn’t bother me and maybe you should stop worrying about my singleness. I like it that way. Maybe a little too much.

It’s already bad enough your someone is either cheating on you or ignoring you or sometimes they abuse you. Why do you want me to pair up? So that I can be as miserable as the rest of you? No. But Thanks. I don’t feel like joining that club,  Not just yet. Maybe someday I will.

I think I know why I have been single for a very long time. I don’t know what I’m looking for. Maybe I know what I’m not looking for, I haven’t found what I’m looking for. When I find it I will definetly pair up.

I know I’m not looking for the proverbial tall dark and handsome or the good boy or the bad boy or anything in between.

I’m not looking for Mr. Perfect. I’m far from being perfect. I know I’m as flawed as they come. I have more scars than I can keep count. It’s not perfection I’m looking for.

I’m not looking for happy ever after. Those are childish dreams. Happy Ever after are just stories we tell ourselves so we can sleep better at night.

I’m not looking for just another human to have. Someone to call my own. Someone to occupy my lonely. NO. if it was that, I would have picked the next guy I meet.

I’m not looking for anything your imagination can think of. Stop trying to set me up or hook me up or bother. Even questioning my spinster hood. No please. When I find whatever it is I’m looking for, I will definetly let the whole World know about it.

I don’t know what I want. I don’t know what I’m looking for. I’m hopeful I will find it someday. If not in this life, maybe in the next. Or in an alternate universe. I haven’t found the Superman to my Lois. Not just yet. Haven’t met my kryptonite yet. Haven’t met the Hades to my Persephone.

Someone just corrected me, apparently Superman is single and so is Lois. And that analogy of Hades and Persephone is not really accurate, legend has it that Hades didn’t love Persephone by choice. Eros probably interfered.

Inspired by stray cats.

Leave a Reply

