If I Should Have A Daughter


If I should have a daughter, the first lesson I will teach her is to love her body, and make a home out of it. I will teach her how to love her skin, the one thing that keeps her insides in place. I will teach her that the only validation that matters is the one that comes from herself. I will show her the ways of love, self love. Just enough love, not vanity or narcissistic. Just enough self love to find home under your own skin. 

If I should have a daughter, I will teach her how to show up for herself, not just when she is winning. She should up for herself, especially when she is not winning. That’s when she needs herself the most. Set her crown in place and like the Queen that I raised her to be, to show up for her own goddamn party. It might come out sometime as Selfish, but that’s the thing about love, it makes you Selfish. 

If I should have a daughter, I will teach her strength. I will teach her how to be her own hero, and strong enough to ask for a hero when she can’t find a hero in herself. I will teach her that sometimes strength is breaking down piece by piece either alone or in the arms of a loved one. That sometimes strength is drinking wine straight up from the bottle while crying alone in the bathroom. That sometimes strength is talking to someone about it. Sometimes strength is seeing things fall apart and doing nothing about it. And sometimes strength is hitting up your momma. I promise to show up with chocolates and ice cream when I can. When it’s impossible, I promise to listen. I will show her that breaking down doesn’t translate to weakness, it just means you human. I will teach my daughter strength in all the shades I know and the one’s I will come to know. 

If I should have a daughter, I will teach her that a long bath is sometimes all the therapy she needs. I will teach her how to take care of her well being. I will teach her spirituality, I will teach her how to take care of her emotions, how go unwind and how to take care of her body. I will teach her that the soul needs nourishment and so does the body. Most importantly, I will teach her how to protect her soul. I will teach her how her soul is the most important part of the being. I will show her ways of guarding her soul. Sometimes it’s closing it off and sometimes it’s opening it up. That her instincts are always right, she should trust it when it comes to taking care of herself. 

If I should have a daughter, I will teach her about sexuality. I will show her how to use her body as a weapon against hearts and mind to conquer the world. I will show her the ways of love. We will walk through Kamasutra step by step. We will learn about wealth, love and pleasure. I will show her how her body could be turned into a Temple, a place of worship, a holly place. I will show her how to be a goddess. How to be Aphrodite, how to be Athena and when to be Persephone, and when to be Artemis…. She should be a lover, a warrior and the goddess of darkness, and a mother. I will teach her ways of the wild woman. 

If I should have a daughter, I will raise her to be a feminist, she should be fighting for us, women. I will show her the ways of sisterhood. I will teach her the importance of having female friends and the whole point is to support each other. I will let her know that the harvest relationship she will ever have is with her best friend. That they will fight, make each other cry, ignore each other but it will be worth it, because no one got her back covered more than her soul sister.

I will teach her everything my mother taught me and everything have learnt in the course of my life. I will teach her all this things, but I won’t make decisions for her. I will let her become her own person, make her own mistakes, let her become whatever she wants. I promise to support her, through it all.

PS. I will be a shitty mom, probably. But that doesn’t mean I won’t be the best I could ever be

One thought on “If I Should Have A Daughter

Leave a Reply

